Ramsey Award

2020 Paul Ramsey Award Winner

The Center for Bioethics and Culture and the Paul Ramsey Award Committee is pleased to announce that Professor Helen Alvaré, J.D. will be the recipient of the 2020 Paul Ramsey Award for Excellence in Bioethics.

Alvaré is a Professor of Law at Antonin Scalia Law School, George Mason University, where she teaches Family Law, Law and Religion, and Property Law. She publishes on matters concerning marriage, parenting, non-marital households, and the First Amendment religion clauses. She is faculty advisor to the law school’s Civil Rights Law Journal, and the Latino/a Law Student Association

In addition to her books, and her publications in law reviews, and other academic journals, Professor Alvaré publishes regularly in news outlets including the New York Times, the Washington Post, the Huffington Post, and CNN.com.

Sean Fieler, Chairman of the American Principles Project, said, “As a public intellectual and a longstanding advocate for women, Helen Alvarés opposition to commercial conception is of particular importance.”

Our Paul Ramsey Institute Scholar, Dr. Aaron Kheriaty, said, “In her writing, speaking, and service to society, Helen Alvaré has been a tireless advocate and defender of the rights of women, children, the poor, and other vulnerable populations.  Through her scholarship, Professor Alvaré has made valuable contributions to family law and the ethics of reproductive technologies.”

About The Paul Ramsey Award

The Paul Ramsey Award honors those who have made an outstanding contribution to the bioethics discussion and are actively engaged in society; facing the challenges of the 21st century, profoundly defending the dignity of humankind, and enthusiastically embracing ethical biotechnology for the human good. The Ramsey Award is given to those who have demonstrated exemplary achievement in the field of bioethics.

Who was Paul Ramsey?

Paul Ramsey is regarded by many as one of the most important ethicists of the twentieth century. He was a distinguished writer on bioethics a generation ago, and served as Harrington Spear Paine Professor of Religion, Princeton University. Ramsey shines as an almost lone beacon in the general darkness of academic bioethics, since his commitment to the sanctity and dignity of human life was paramount.

Previous Ramsey Award Recipients

  • 2004: Edmund D. Pellegrino
  • 2005: Germain Grisez
  • 2006: John M. Finnis
  • 2007: William E. May
  • 2008: Albert S. Moraczewski
  • 2009: Gilbert Meilaender
  • 2010: Leon Kass
  • 2011: Luke Gormally
  • 2012: Mary Ann Glendon
  • 2013: David Solomon
  • 2014: Daniel Sulmasy
  • 2015: John F. Kilner
  • 2016: Brent Waters
  • 2017: David Albert Jones
  • 2018: Farr A. Curlin
  • 2019: Patrick T. Smith